top of page

It's all about Forgiveness

Updated: May 17, 2019

Why do I need to forgive? They hurt me. Why forgive? It's whatever, I don't have time for this. Why do I need to forgive? I'm fine.. #LetsBeReal everything is all about forgiveness.






Yesss the topic of Forgiveness..Let's Talk, Let's Be Real!


This fruit of the Spirit is valuable and sweet, easy and extremely freeing! Yes the topic of forgiveness! Let’s talk. In my life and most likely yours too, there has big a great amount of forgiveness needed. Forgiveness has been an ongoing cycle in my life. I don't know about you but this is something I am constantly having to do and is a very key and “good fruit” I’ve had to apply to my daily life. God has shown and taught me that it’s all about forgiveness and it’s a major thing He values, whether I needed to be forgiven or I needed to forgive someone. In fact, it’s easier to receive forgiveness from others than being the one to forgive. The one forgive ourselves and others. However, it’s not forgiveness that Millennial women have a problem with, because we could easily say “I forgive you” but it’s the previous pain that has to be healed in order for true forgiveness to resinate within us.


As millennial women, we tend to have way more emotions instilled and can carry them on to what seems like forever. However, the pain that occurs is something that cannot be left untreated. If left untreated it like a virus that spreads into other areas of our life negatively affecting it. Ever find yourself bitter and even taking things out on other people or taking pain to everyone but God? It is okay to be upset and get mad about things because the pain causes this to happen. God did not say we would never get upset, but He did say in (Ephesians 4:26) when we are angry, sin not. You may keep replaying things in your mind, reliving every event and moment, or treating the person you haven't forgiven based off of what was done to you. But sooner rather than later the grief of the pain has to pass like a cloud that passes over after it has rained. During the grief and the time where you are raging with anger and hurt remember that it is significant because whenever you go through something, as a child of God it means God’s help, grace, mercy, healing, power, strength, love, kindness, compassion, and so much more is on the way! All things work together for the good of them that love the Lord, who have been called according to His purpose. (Romans 8:28).


God is here to give you a helping hand and rescue you. But you have to do your part as a lover of Christ and aligning yourself with God's purpose and plan. God says He will never leave you nor forsake you (Deuteronomy 31:8.) It’s so amazing how God honors His promises. Since He is faithful and unchanging, knowing what’s best for you, God wants you to sprint to him with everything that you are and all that's in your life. From all the victories to all the failures. God knows that you withholding the pain is no good for you and that the enemy rejoices in spirits that are unlike God. He knows that you reap what you sow (Galatians 6:7-9). So if you continue with unforgivingness in your heart, sowing that in your life then, you will reap more unforgivingness from others. #LetsBeHonest The enemy seeks to divide you from Jesus through sin and fleshly/worldly ways of operating.God says if you forgive other people when they sin against you, your heavenly Father will also forgive you (Matthew 6:14). In addition, God is so aware that if you do not forgive then the brokenness is left untreated which ultimately leads to a life of grudges and bitterness. To prevent this God wants you to have forgiveness hidden and sealed in your heart.


See God knows when it comes to forgiveness it is about setting you free from the pain and heartache. I’ve learned that even though forgiveness of people for their wrongs highlights everything that the opposite party is battling with and has going on within their spirit. Friend, I want you to look closely and be aware because the things people choose to do or speak is a reflection of the deep inner parts of their heart. In addition, I learned choosing to forgive barely has anything to do with the opposite party, in fact, nothing to do with the opposite party. The opposite party has their side and actions towards you that causes the pain and results in you having to recover however, it really has to do with the condition of your heart and actions. God is all about the heart and creating you to be more and more like Him. God sees the attitude of your heart and honors what is like Him. Even though it’s difficult God has given you free will, so as the perfect gentlemen that He is, He gives a choice and let’s you choose to cry out to Him for help or not. Daily I am asking God for extra doses of forgiveness and fruits of the spirit because it is just that difficult that I can’t do it in my own strength. When I surrender the peace of God surpasses my understanding and before I know it I am walking through the fire with strength and overcoming what was once really hard.


Forgiveness may take a step by step process for you, which often times it is for people, but continuing to move towards forgiveness is always what’s best and is a Christ-like action. That’s something that happens for me especially with people who make it tough for to love and I have to lead by example as well as overcoming evil with God and approaching these people and situations differently. Believe me, there are things I am still working on with forgiveness because it is a daily thing. Something I try to remember is to extend love, grace, and mercy to others even when they are undeserving. This is literally what God has taught me to do daily and fixed my eyes on Christ, putting Christ on, and treat others the way God treats me. God has helped me release the thoughts of expectation from people and has given me a mindset and room for them to mess up because we are not perfect and seeing them as a person then that changes the way I treat them and even the way that they respond. Through rejection, opposition against me, when family members or my spouse does me wrong, friendships aren’t right, people mistreat me and talk about me, this is a perfect time and seasons to practice forgiveness.


Friend, God has called us to live through the pain and not being chained to it or in it for God has called you to be free and loves to reign within you. Also let God use the things you can't forget as your testimony to show the evidence of where God has brought you from. If God can give me peace in the midst of storms and give me a new heart of forgiveness with perspective then He can and will do it for you! Do not let the demonic spirit of unforgivingness have dominion over you! -Sydni Brooks


Reflection/Tips:

1. How/In what ways can you better practice forgiveness in my life?

2. Focus on the Lord and not the storm or pain.

3. Give the Lord all of your pain and emotions. Tell Him EVERYTHING literally!

4. Allow God to work on your heart and access peace found in Jesus.


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page